Welcome to Atheist Discussion, a new community created by former members of The Thinking Atheist forum.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is Turkish Sumerian?

Is Turkish Sumerian?
I've been studying Turkish for several years.   It's a fascinating language because it's so simple in it's structure, has so few actual "words" and is backwards. It has the same structure as Sumerian

But, once you figure out the rules, you find that core words are the same as in English and particularly American slang.

The word for "go" in Turkish, for instance is "git".   "Big" is "buyuk".  And so on. 

Word endings in English are also directly from Turkish.    So, you add "li" to anything you like and you get a word denoting "with".   So, "with sugar" is "sekerli" pronounced "shegerly".    Instead of adding an "s" to get the possessive tense, they add "n" so you would get "America'n".  Add "ci" and you get what a person does for a living.  Any noun placed after a possessive noun has to have the ending "i" attached to it. "Cat" is "keddi".  When you refer to yourself, you are "ben", being.  

What you can do is use this to deconstruct English words.  So, for instance "bu" means "this" and "ra" means "place" so together they are "bura".  Which is the ending "borough".  "Good" is "iy", pronounced "eee" and "from" is "den", so you "iy den" (eden) would mean "good from" and "iyedenbura" would mean "good from this place"....Edinburgh. 

The verbs are the core of the sentence because you just keep adding endings and verbs are conjugated as in French. 

If you were going "to" New York, you'd add the ending "a" as in French for "to" or English "at" and you get "New York'a.  Put this together and you get  "Ben, new york'a gidiyorum".   "me, New York to, getting I am".  

Because of this I began taking an interest in Turkey and the claim that it is the birthplace of Europe. It's also called Anatolia, which translates as "motherland";  "ana" means "mother".